Cub Scout Award Scheme

The major components of the Cub Scout Award Scheme are the Bronze, Silver and Gold Boomerang badges. To earn each of these badges, Cub Scouts must complete at least ten challenges under the guidance of Leaders.

Cub Scouts can set challenges for themselves to earn Achievement Badges from the areas of Arts and Literature, Nature, Science and Technology, Sports and Recreation, and Our World. There are also a number of Special Interest badges.

The ultimate badge for Cub Scouts is the Grey Wolf Award. This can only be attained by earning a certain number of badges from the other levels of the scheme as well as completing several additional challenges.

Boomerang Badges

The Boomerang badges are the major part of Cub Scout training and aim to develop skills and awareness in self-responsibility, outdoor Scouting, Scouting values and principles, creativity, personal pursuits and interests, and awareness of the Cub Scout’s local and global community.

There are three levels of Boomerang: Bronze, Silver and Gold.

Achievement Badges

Achievement badges give Cub Scouts the opportunity to concentrate on their areas of interest. There are 34 badges to choose from. Each badge has two levels and the Cub Scout chooses which level they would like to achieve. There are four groups of Achievement badges.

Arts and Literature

Nature, Science and Technology

Sports and Recreation

Our World

Special Interest Badges

Grey Wolf Award

This is the pinnacle of achievement in the Cub Scout Section. To earn the Grey Wolf Award a Cub Scout must hold a Gold Boomerang badge, participate in a minimum of four outdoor activities and attend two Pack Councils in the previous 12 months, complete four Level 2 Achievement badges (one from each category) and one Special Interest badge, and develop and present a resource for the Six or Pack based on the Cub Scout’s understanding of The Jungle Book.

About us

The 1st Collaroy Plateau Scout Group was formed on the 18th November 1963 when a committee was formed with Mr Barry Garland as President. That Group has now been running continuously as 1st Collaroy Plateau Scout Group since 1964.
Follow us:
Copyright © 2018 1st Collaroy Plateau Scout Group | Privacy Policy